Poem: When I First Saw Her

112590250

When I first saw her,
it wasn’t anything like in the movies.
Time didn’t slow down to a crawl,
the music didn’t go silent,
and there wasn’t a change in lighting.

My heart didn’t freeze,
nor did it pick up in rhythm.
I could breathe easily looking at her,
my throat clear and open.

I know that tales of meeting your wife
are supposed to be more exciting.
But I didn’t feel that shock when I met mine.
It was a simple meeting, free of spectacle.

However,
my eyebrows did raise in surprise,
so I took that as a good sign.

This poem was originally published in Quail Bell Magazine.

This entry was posted in Cambridge Writers' Workshop, Quail Bell and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

